Learning & Teaching - Victorian Curriculum

The Victorian Curriculum is used as the curriculum framework at Mary MacKillop Primary School and reflects the learning progressions from Foundation through to Year 10. The Victorian Curriculum incorporate all elements of the Australian Curriculum.

The Victorian Curriculum is structured into learning areas, which identify the content knowledge, concepts and skills required in particular subject areas, and capabilities, which identify skills and concepts that are applicable across all learning areas.  

Learning areas

  • The Arts

    • Dance

    • Drama
    • Media Arts
    • Music
    • Visual Arts
    • Visual Communication and Design 
  • English

  • Health and Physical Education

  • The Humanities

    • Civics and Citizenship
    • Economics
    • Geography
    • History
  • Languages

  • Mathematics

  • Science

  • Technologies

    • Design and Technology
    • Digital Technology


  • Creative and Critical Thinking

  • Ethical Capabilities

  • Intercultural Capabilities

  • Personal and Social Capabilities

Our curriculum incorporates essential components identified in the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians, which supports developing 'individuals who can manage their own wellbeing, relate well to others, make informed decisions about their lives, become citizens who behave with ethical integrity, relate to and communicate across cultures, work for the common good and act with responsibility at local, regional and global levels'.

Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians, December 2008.